Order my steps, part 2

foot print in the sand

Please, order my steps in your word.

When we ask God to order our steps, what are we really asking him? Seems like a great deal right? Having the creator of the universe reigning sovereign over your life, guiding your very footsteps?

Well, the fact of the matter is that it is a great deal. It should be noted, though, that this deal might not be as “peachy” as one might think. Agreeing to a partnership with the King of kings and Lord of lords means strapping up for a long, interesting ride.

Proverbs 3:5-6 charges the believer to, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight (or direct your paths).” The relationship that we as Christians have with God is one of trust. This relationship requires that we “test and approve what God’s will is” (Romans 12:2) and seek his will for our lives.

Yielding to the plan of God means facing definite uncertainty. I have often been told that if God made known his entire plan for our lives, we would most certainly mess it up. For this reason, we are commanded to “live by faith (and) not by sight” (2 Corinthians 5:7). Trusting God very much requires that you rest in the unseen.

God’s promptings do not require that they make sense to us, but that we are obedient to what he says. Truth be told, we never will be able to fully understand why God is telling us to do a particular thing. Isaiah 55:8 reads, “‘For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,’ declares the Lord.”

Realizing that we cannot figure God out is probably the biggest favor we can do ourselves as Christians. We would save so much time and energy trying to figure out which way God is going come from this time, or in what form is he going to come. By just lifting our hands and committing our situations into his hands, we lift the burden off ourselves and give him room to come in how he sees fit.

The good news is that God does not leave us completely in the dark when it comes to his plan for our lives. Psalm 119:105 declares, “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.” Through study of the word of God, the Lord is able to speak to us individually.

I will never forget riding home on the train one night during the Fall 2010 semester, after three weeks of not being registered for school because a $3,500 balance that followed me for a year. That night, I had reached a breaking point; I needed to be registered for classes before the end of the week or I could pretty much kiss the semester goodbye. While on the train, I opened my Bible and stumbled across Matthew 6:25-34, where Jesus commands us not to worry about tomorrow.

After reading this passage I remember saying, “I get it.” Such a peace and joy came over me, seemingly right when I needed it. The very next day, my balance went from $3,500 to zero in one visit to the financial aid office. I was able to register for all the classes I needed and, today, I am officially a college graduate!

Not only does he illuminate our path by his word, but God also  prompts us by his Spirit. Isaiah 30:21 reads, “Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” The Holy Spirit will lead and guide us (John 16:13) if we are sensitive enough to listen.

The book of Acts is a terrific example of how the Holy Spirit works to guide us in our lives. In Acts 8, Phillip is told by an angel to take a desert road going from Jerusalem to Gaza. Taking this route, Phillip encounters an Ethiopian eunuch, who is in charge of the treasury of the queen of Ethiopia. When Phillip spots the eunuch, Acts 8:29 says, “the Spirit told Phillip, ‘Go to that chariot and stay near it.’” What resulted was the preaching of the gospel message and the baptism of the eunuch.

The Holy Spirit also keeps us from dangers seen and unseen. Acts 16:6 details Paul’s excursions: “Paul and his companions traveled throughout the region of Phrygia and Galatia, having been kept by the Holy Spirit from preaching the word in the province of Asia.” If we are willing to listen to the Holy Spirit, then he will tell us what we should or should not do pertaining to our life’s journey.

Ultimately, we have to trust God. The great thing, though, is that there is assurance in trusting the sovereign God, outlined in the Word of God. Isaiah 55:11 says, “so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I have sent it.”

God’s promises are yes in Christ (2 Corinthians 1:20) and he assures us that “anyone who trusts in him will never be put to shame” (Romans 10:11).

~ by christianballenger on May 18, 2011.

6 Responses to “Order my steps, part 2”

  1. Amen….Great word!

  2. Well done Christian. It’s interesting that God had both you and I in the same passage of Scripture (2 Cor 5:7) for our most recent posts. Keep up the great work!

  3. What an absolutely wonderful Lord we have 🙂

  4. Thank u God for ur word

  5. Found this to be very helpful thank you

Leave a Reply

 
