I’m hungry

Hunger is not always a bad thing, especially when craving the things of God.

I often think about Jesus’ episode in the wilderness and how afterward the Scripture says, “he was hungry” (Matthew 4:1). Then I think about how hungry I am after fasting for a mere four hours compared to Jesus’ 40 days.

For sure, the devil would not have had to tell me to turn stones into bread. Before the words came out of his mouth, I probably would have been half way through the meal.

Our willingness to deny our physical craving for food, however, is driven by our desire for God. Matthew 5:6 tells us, “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.”

I admit, even as I type, I am starving beyond belief. However, I acknowledge that I have two appetites: natural and spiritual. This spiritual appetite is exemplified by Jesus in John the fourth chapter.

When the disciples rejoin him, after he sent them ahead so that he could talk to the Samaritan woman, they entreated him to eat something. He replied, in John 4:34, “‘My food,’ said Jesus, ‘is to do the will of him who sent me and to finish his work.'”

Jesus found a satisfaction that superceded the natural sensation of filling his belly, in the form of rigtheousness. After all, it was Jesus who offered the declaration in Matthew 5:6. Why would he not take his own advice?

I, for one, in being conformed into the image of the Son (Romans 8:29), want to truly follow the path of Christ. Even more than my natural diet, I want to have a hunger and thirst for the things of God.

It is interesting, though, to consider what it actually means to be filled by his rigtheousness. How does one really get filled?

Well, I would posit in many ways. When in doubt, though, refer to Jesus. In following along with John 4:34, Jesus tells us that he is fed by doing God’s work.

Have you ever experienced an occasion where God worked in you “to will and to act according to his good purpose” (Philippians 2:13)? Can you recall the satisfaction that resulted from that instance?

Much like Jesus, we have an inward desire to please the Father. When we do something that does please the Father, there is a feeling of joy that accompanies the good deed.

In most cases, this will be an act of giving. Acts 20:35 says, “It is more blessed to give than to receive.”

The word “blessed” can take on the meaning of “happy.” We see, then, that serving the Lord by serving others results in a feeling of contentment or satisfaction. Much like a good meal, we become full from the bountiful harvest of God’s field.

So I encourage you, whenever you experience hunger, to think on Jesus’ words in John 4:34. The table is spread, but only those who hunger and thirst for righteousness will partake of it (Matthew 9:7).

~ by christianballenger on November 21, 2011.

3 Responses to “I’m hungry”

  1. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Great job! This is so right on time! You have no idea.

  3. one prayer i’ve started praying recently is that God should fill me with an insatiable hunger for Him. God is the one Person who you can hunger for, getting filled and getting hungrier all the more. You can never get enough. You’ll just keep needing more and enjoying the meal!!!

Leave a Reply

 
